What are Provincial Licensure Bodies?

Canada is a great country, with a large geographical mass. It is divided into provinces: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Northwest Tettirories, Nunuvat, and the Yukon. Each of these provinces have a different college of nurses also known as regulation body or licensure body: they are listed below. ALthough the processes are different, once you become a registered nurse, in most instances, you can easily transfer from one province to another. (This may not be so for IENs in Saskatchewan.)

What is difficult for many IENs in Canada or coming to Canada to understand is that each provincial licensure body has different licensure processed. Some of the differences are seen in the following:
  • the English Proficiency exams accepted,
  • the steps of the licensure process,
  • how education is evaluated, and
  • the classes required for upgrading.

In reading questions by IENs answered by IENs in a different country or rovince, there is much misinformation, becsaue what is true for one province or country is not true for another.

  • The NCLEX is not part of the Canadian licensure process for registered nurses.
  • The CRNE is very different from the NCLEX in design and what is being evaluated.
  • What was accepted in 2005 is not what is expected in 2010.

It is important to do your research about requirements for your licensure body in your province. Getting information from the provincial licensure body’s website is the first start.

If you have not come to Canada all licensure bodies are equally throrough:

  • all are evaluating and ensuring that you are equal to a Canadian graduate.
  • All take time, and money.
  • Some are funded, some are not.

Do your research.

Provincial Licensure Bodies

British Columbia
  • College of Registered Nursed of British Columbia, CRNBC;


  • College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta, CARNA;


  • Saskatchewan Registered Nurses Association,Β SRNA;


  • College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba, CRNM;


  • College of Nurses of Ontario, CNO;

Nova Scotia

  • College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia, CRNNS;

Prince Edward Island

  • Association of Registered Nurses of Prince Edward Island, ARNPEI;

New Brunswick

  • Nurses Association of New Brunswick, NANB;

Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Association of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador, ARNNL;

NWT and Nunuvat

  • Registered Nurses Association of Northwest Territories and Nunavut, RNANT/NU;


  • Yukon Registered Nurses Association YRNA.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.